Capacity building

As an integral component, substantial training opportunities in advanced breeding techniques are built into the core of the project, both for post-graduate students as well as technical staff, while the exchange of genetic material across countries and continents are additionally facilitated.

Students

Michael Batte

I obtained full sponsorship from BBB project. (Stipend, travel, supervisors’ allowances, management of experiments)

Title: Increasing efficiency of the breeding pipeline for East African highland bananas.

Thesis defended on 4 June 2019 at the Swedish University of Agricultural sciences (SLU) Alnarp campus.
Main supervisor: Professor Rodomiro Ortiz, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU), Alnarp, Sweden. E-mail: rodomiro.ortiz@slu.se
Co-supervisor: Dr. Helena Persson Hovmalm, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU), Alnarp, Sweden. E-mail: Helena.Persson@slu.se
Co-supervisor:  Dr. Mulatu Geleta, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU), Alnarp, Sweden. E-mail Mulatu.Geleta.Dida@slu.se
Co-supervisor: Prof. Rony Swennen, International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA), Arusha, Tanzania. E-mail: rony.swennen@kuleuven.be
Co-supervisor: Dr.Brigitte Uwimana, International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA), Kampala, Uganda. E-mail: B.Uwimana@cgiar.org
Co-supervisor: Dr.Allan Brown, International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA), Arusha, Tanzania. E-mail: A.Brown@cgiar.org
In the news: https://www.slu.se/en/ew-news/2019/6/slu-research-opens-to-make-the-breeding-of-bananas-more-efficient/